Referral to treatment (RTT) data for August 2026, published 8 October 2026 · Page updated 2 November 2026
Cardiothoracic surgery waiting times at Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
NHS England referral to treatment (RTT) figures for consultant-led cardiothoracic surgery care at Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, in the NHS England North West region. Patients waiting at the end of August 2026. Cardiothoracic surgery covers operations on the heart, lungs and chest, for example heart bypass and heart valve surgery.
Short answer: At the end of August 2026, 24 pathways were waiting for consultant-led cardiothoracic surgery care at Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. Half had waited 19.0 weeks or less so far (England 9.6 weeks), 45.8% had waited under 18 weeks (England 73.6%; standard 92%) and 0 had waited over 52 weeks.
Source: NHS England referral to treatment (RTT) statistics, published 8 October 2026. These are past figures, not a forecast of how long you will wait.
Figures are for patients waiting at the end of August 2026 (NHS England RTT, published 8 October 2026). They show how long people had waited so far, not how long a new referral will wait, and they are not a guarantee of any wait. A pathway is one patient’s wait for one specialty; a person can be on more than one list.
Cardiothoracic surgery at Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh Teaching Hospitals: summary
The median cardiothoracic surgery wait so far at Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh Teaching Hospitals was 19.0 weeks for patients waiting at the end of August 2026, 9.4 weeks (98%) longer than the England median of 9.6 weeks. The share waiting under 18 weeks, 45.8%, was 17.9 percentage points below the figure for the North West region (63.7%). That was the longest median cardiothoracic surgery wait of the 29 NHS trusts in England with at least 20 pathways waiting. Although the list shrank by 2 pathways (8%) between the end of May 2026 and August 2026, the median wait so far rose from 11.0 weeks to 19.0 weeks. Over the same months the England median went from 10.5 weeks to 9.6 weeks. None of the 24 pathways had waited over 52 weeks (England 1.2%). 6 of the 6 other NHS trusts within 60 miles had a shorter median; the nearest were Bolton (about 8 miles away, median 7.1 weeks) and Manchester University (about 18 miles away, median 8.1 weeks).
How does Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh Teaching Hospitals compare for cardiothoracic surgery?
| Measure | Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh Teaching Hospitals | North West region | England |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pathways waiting | 24 | 2,818 | 8,798 |
| Waited under 18 weeks | 45.8% | 63.7% | 73.6% |
| Median weeks waited | 19.0 | not calculated | 9.6 |
| 92nd percentile weeks waited | 36 | not calculated | 34 |
| Waited over 52 weeks | 0 (0.0%) | 78 (2.8%) | 106 (1.2%) |
Region figures are a Waiting Times UK calculation: we add up NHS England’s figures for the 8 NHS and independent providers in the North West region with this specialty. Medians and percentiles cannot be added up, so we do not show them for the region. The under-18-weeks share leaves out pathways with an unknown start date, as NHS England does.
Of the 29 NHS trusts in England with at least 20 cardiothoracic surgery pathways waiting, 28 had a shorter median wait than Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh Teaching Hospitals and 0 a longer one. See all specialties on the operation and treatment waits page.
Has the cardiothoracic surgery wait at Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh Teaching Hospitals changed?
At the end of May 2026, 26 pathways were waiting and the median wait so far was 11.0 weeks. At the end of August 2026, 24 pathways were waiting and the median was 19.0 weeks. Past changes do not predict future waits.
Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh Teaching Hospitals: median cardiothoracic surgery wait (weeks) England cardiothoracic surgery
| Month end | Waiting | Median weeks | Under 18 weeks | Over 52 weeks |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| February 2026 | fewer than 20 or not reported | – | – | – |
| March 2026 | fewer than 20 or not reported | – | – | – |
| April 2026 | fewer than 20 or not reported | – | – | – |
| May 2026 | 26 | 11.0 | 65.4% | 0 |
| June 2026 | 22 | 13.5 | 68.2% | 0 |
| July 2026 | 23 | 17.1 | 69.6% | 0 |
| August 2026 | 24 | 19.0 | 45.8% | 0 |
Which nearby trusts treat cardiothoracic surgery?
| Nearby trust | Distance | Median weeks | Under 18 weeks | Waiting |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bolton NHS Foundation Trust | about 8 miles | 7.1 | 93.5% | 31 |
| Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust | about 18 miles | 8.1 | 81.9% | 817 |
| Blackpool Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust | about 24 miles | 18.6 | 48.6% | 876 |
| University Hospitals of North Midlands NHS Trust | about 42 miles | 11.2 | 73.6% | 227 |
| Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust | about 49 miles | 7.7 | 78.7% | 447 |
| The Shrewsbury and Telford Hospital NHS Trust | about 59 miles | 12.1 | 86.2% | 80 |
Straight-line distance between the trusts’ registered addresses in the NHS Organisation Data Service. A trust may run several hospitals, so the site you are treated at can be elsewhere. Only trusts with at least 20 cardiothoracic surgery pathways waiting are listed.
Find cardiothoracic surgery waits near your postcode (England only).
Can I choose a hospital with a shorter wait?
In England you have a legal right to start consultant-led, non-urgent treatment within 18 weeks of referral, with some exceptions, and you can usually choose where you are referred for a first outpatient appointment. Each hospital has a Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) that can help with questions about your wait. Your waiting time rights explained.
Not medical advice. If your symptoms change or get worse while you wait, contact your GP or the team treating you. If it is not an emergency, NHS 111 online or calling 111 can tell you where to go, including urgent treatment centres, which often have shorter waits. Call 999 or go to A&E for life-threatening emergencies such as chest pain, difficulty breathing, severe bleeding or signs of a stroke.
More waiting times
- All waiting times at Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
- Operation and treatment waits by specialty in England
- Search by postcode
- All specialty pages by trust
Other specialties at Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh Teaching Hospitals
- Cardiology
- Dermatology
- Ear, nose and throat (ENT)
- Elderly medicine
- Gastroenterology
- General internal medicine
- General surgery
- Gynaecology
- Ophthalmology
- Oral surgery
- Respiratory medicine
- Rheumatology
- Trauma and orthopaedics
- Urology
Frequently asked questions
How long is the wait for cardiothoracic surgery at Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh Teaching Hospitals?
At the end of August 2026, half of the 24 pathways waiting for cardiothoracic surgery at Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust had waited 19.0 weeks or less, and 45.8% had waited under 18 weeks. This is how long people on the list had waited so far, not a prediction of how long a new referral will take.
How does Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh Teaching Hospitals compare with England for cardiothoracic surgery?
Across England the median cardiothoracic surgery wait was 9.6 weeks and 73.6% had waited under 18 weeks at the end of August 2026. Of 29 NHS trusts with at least 20 pathways waiting, 28 had a shorter median wait.
Is this page from the NHS?
No. Waiting Times UK is an independent website, not part of the NHS, and this is not medical advice. The figures are NHS England’s, reproduced under the Open Government Licence.
How should I cite these figures?
Waiting Times UK, “Cardiothoracic surgery waiting times at Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust”, NHS England RTT data for August 2026, https://waitingtimesuk.co.uk/specialty-waits/wrightington-wigan-and-leigh-teaching-hospitals-nhs-foundation-trust/cardiothoracic-surgery (accessed [date]). Where possible, cite the official publisher too.
Who wrote this page and where do the figures come from?
Written and maintained by the Waiting Times UK editorial team at Oaknest Media Ltd, an independent publisher that is not part of the NHS. Every figure is taken from an official publication, shown with its date, and linked below; where we add up or compare figures ourselves we say so. This page has not been reviewed by a clinician and is not medical advice. Page last updated 2 November 2026, from the data files named below. Figures change when the publisher releases new data.
- NHS England: Referral to treatment waiting times (August 2026, published 8 October 2026)
- NHS England: Referral to treatment waiting times, full CSV data files (February 2026 to August 2026; used for the month-by-month trend)
- NHS England: Organisation Data Service (trust registered addresses, used for distances), geocoded with postcodes.io (ONS Postcode Directory, OGL)
Official statistics are reproduced under the Open Government Licence v3.0. See data sources and methods and about Waiting Times UK.
Spotted a figure that looks wrong or out of date? Report a figure and we will check it against the original source.